Traffic Court

A traffic citation has been issued for you to appear before the Marshall County District Court. If you fail to pay or otherwise dispose of your case prior to the court date and fail to appear on your court date, a warrant may be issued for your arrest, your driver’s license may be suspended by the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency, the fine may be increased, and any bond posted may be forfeited. The Court date on your copy of the ticket is NOT A TRIAL DATE; if you desire to plead NOT GUILTY and want a TRIAL, you must appear in court on your court date to request a TRIAL.

Tickets listed in the chart may be paid by entering a guilty plea without a required court appearance, provided you have not been convicted of two or more traffic offenses in the preceding 12 months. If you wish to avoid a court appearance and enter a plea of guilty, sign the Defendant’s plea of guilty on the back of your copy of the ticket and attach your money order or cashier’s check for the amount of fine and costs indicated and mail it to:

District Court Clerk - Traffic
424 Blount Avenue, Suite 201
Guntersville, AL  35976

NO PERSONAL CHECKS. Personal checks will be returned causing a delay.

For questions or payment please contact the Alabama Traffic Service Center at or by calling toll free 1-866-954-9399. Cases may be paid with a credit or debit card by calling 1-877-252-7294 (please note there is a fee to pay by card)


Defensive Driving School Options

In some circumstances, Driving School may be an option and can be completed prior to the first court setting or after an appearance in court. You may come to the Clerk's office prior to the court date to obtain information or request it at the court setting.  At any time that Driving School is completed, the certificate may be presented or mailed in to the Clerk of Court prior to the court setting.  Enrolling in defensive driving school and furnishing the Court with a Certificate of Completion are your responsibility.  The total amount of court costs in the amount of $172.00 must be paid in full within 90 days of the completion for your case to be dismissed and to avoid a further court appearance.  This payment should be made by cash, cashier's check, or money order (No personal checks will be accepted) to:   Angie Johnson, Circuit Clerk, 424 Blount Avenue, Suite 201, Guntersville, AL  35976.

Processing of No-Insurance Tickets

If Defendant has insurance valid before date of citation, the defendant may show proof of insurance or mail proof of insurance to the Clerk of Court prior to the assigned court date and request for dismissal without costs.   If the Defendant purchases insurance after the citation, the defendant should bring or mail proof of insurance to the Clerk of Court along with a money order for court costs in the amount of $172.00 to: Angie Johnson, Circuit Clerk, 424 Blount Avenue, Suite 201, Guntersville, AL  35976. Payment should be made by cash, cashier's check or money order. No personal checks will be accepted.

IF THE CASE IS NOT CONCLUDED BY THE COURT DATE, THE DEFENDANT MUST APPEAR IN COURT.  The doors will open at 7:30 a.m. on the court day and the judge will be present to go ahead and start handling cases, so take advantage!


To avoid further court appearances, Defendant should bring to court all relevant documents at the first court appearance. For example, if the Defendant did not have insurance at the time the ticket was written, but has obtained insurance, proof of the new insurance may result in a lower fine. Also, if the Defendant had insurance coverage on another vehicle and the vehicle driven at the time of citation was newly purchased, the Defendant may bring proof of insurance on the other vehicle, proof of purchase of the newly purchased vehicle described in the ticket and a statement from the insurance provider that the newly purchased vehicle was covered at the time of citation, although the Defendant had not received the insurance card.

*If tint is removed or equipment is repaired, a law enforcement officer at any agency must sign off on the ticket.  The ticket must then be presented to the Circuit Clerk BEFORE the court date.  If completed prior to the court date, the ticket will be dismissed without cost and Defendant will not have to appear in court.


Updated 10/01/2019



Allowing a minor to drive $221.00
Blocking Highway $226.00
Driving on the wrong side of the road $226.00
Expired drivers license (fine remitted w/purchase of license – $211) $242.00
Failure to dim lights $182.00
Fail to obey posted sign $216.00
Failure to stop at RR crossing $206.00
Failure to yield row $192.00
Follow too closely $192.00
Improper brakes $192.00
Improper casting of light $272.00
Improper lights (dismissed if fixed and signed by officer) $192.00
Improper muffler $182.00
Improper passing $192.00
Improper lane usage $192.00
Improper signal $192.00
Improper turn $192.00
Improper/expired tag $192.00
Improper tires $192.00
Littering on highway $272.00
Move over law $272.00
No proof of insurance (Fine remitted w/purchase of insurance - dismissed w/valid card) $222.00
No child restraint $197.00
No motorcycle helmet $182.00
No drivers license $247.00
NO CDL $346.00
No drivers license in possession (not cdl) (dismissed w/valid card) $247.00
No tag (fine remitted w/purchase of tag & valid tag receipt - $172) $222.00
No seatbelt $46.00
Obstructed windshield $192.00
Running red light/stop sign $192.00
Speeding (less than 25mph over posted limit) $192.00
Speeding (25-35mph and up to & including posted limit) $212.00
Speeding (36mph and above over posted limit) Appearance Required
Tint violation (dismissed if fixed and signed by officer) $192.00
Violation of DL restrictions $232.00